Tags

, , ,

So today is World Mental Health Day. What exactly does that mean? I guess it’s suppose to “raise awareness” that mental health issues exist. Perhaps it is supposed to help eliminate the stigma that surrounds mental health? I don’t know. My question is, well, does it? This I can’t really answer and as far as I know there is not going to be an exhaustive or analytical survey used to figure out if these aims were achieved. The purpose of this blog is to not bash or bad-mouth people attempting to raise awareness of mental health issues or to help eliminate stigma but rather to ask, is there a better way to achieve these goals?

Last month my social media feeds were so full of videos about the ALS Ice Bucket Challenge that I stopped paying attention.  Soon there were articles and opinion pieces about whether or not this was the best or most affective way of raising support or awareness for ALS.  Eventually I just tuned it all out.  I don’t know if I am the only person who stopped listening but as I reflect on it, something comes to mind.  ALS is a terrible illness that mankind should be striving to eliminate.  However, I don’t know of anyone personally who has suffered with it so it is difficult for me to completely relate or to have that emotional attachment to this issue. Ask me to support issues and causes around cancer, Alzheimer’s, MS, addiction and mental health and you bet I am on board because I have a personal connection to all of these illnesses and diseases.  There is something intrinsically powerful about looking yourself or a loved one in the eye and walking with them as they suffer and struggle.  It is something different to try to motivate and encourage others to get excited about something that from their frame of reference they simply just can’t.

Basically, I guess what I am trying to say, is that if you really didn’t care about mental health issues before today, knowing that it is Mental Health Day probably won’t change your mind.  However, if you are someone who struggles with mental health issues then this day can be an amazing platform for you to step out of the shadows and know that you are not alone.  Share your stories.  Tell a friend, a colleague, a family member who may not know about the giants that you are fighting on a daily basis.  This is how stigma can end.  This is how people who don’t really care about mental health issues will be able to make a personal connection.  If one person who suffers with mental health issues is able to stand up and share their story, then to me, this day will have been a success.

Remember, you are sick, not weak.

Be Blessed,

Ryan